Filing for Work Compensation in North Carolina
Are you facing challenges comprehending the North Carolina Workers’ compensation law? Are you contemplating filing a claim because of injuries you sustained at work? Fighting for the compensation you rightfully deserve can be daunting,especially because of the complexity of the law and the lengthy procedures involved in claiming benefits. This article walks you through a few steps to take when trying to obtain compensation,according to [dcl=6679].
Inform Your Superior Immediately
This is the first and the most critical step that you will take before commencing your claim. You should notify your head of the department in writing.
Fill Out Form 18 (Notice of Accident)
Upon filling out the form,you must send it to both your employer and the dependent for determination of workers’ comp benefits. Your employer is expected to file the same form with the Industrial Commission of North Carolina. A copy of the form should be forwarded to the employee and the insurance company of the employer. A duly filled and signed form 18 should be filed within 30 days. You need an experienced North Carolina Workers’ Compensation lawyer before to check for any errors before sending it to your employer.
The employee has a right to see a comprehensive statement his or her employer or insurance carrier regarding the reasons for denying the claim. This should be filed not later than 14 days.
Upon denying the claim,the victim is expected to get a form 61-Denia; of North Carolina Worker’s Compensation Claims giving a detailed response for failing to accept the claim. Otherwise,an employee may receive form 60–Employer’s Admission of Employee’s Right to Compensation. Alternatively,the employee should get form 63,a temporary acceptance.
The fact that form 63 is temporary means there is a chance that the benefits may be denied. Therefore,any holder of form 63 should look for a[dcl=6679] immediately. Given that the process of claiming compensation is sophisticated,you need an experienced lawyer in this area of law to file for work comp in North Carolina.